Participants in the IMR Stakeholder Dialogue

The International Music Registry (IMR) stakeholder dialogue structure comprises three different bodies:  the Consultative Committee, Organizing Committee and Logistics Support.

The Consultative Committee

The IMR is driven by its stakeholders and responds to their initiatives. The Consultative Committee (CC) reflects this in its composition, which includes a wide variety of key players in the music industry, as well as an emphasis on inclusive geographical representation which facilitates a truly global dialogue. The Consultative Committee provides general direction to the IMR which is then implemented in various specific areas by the Secretariat. The basic ideas influencing the development of the IMR initiation are often the result of proposals submitted by the CC to the Organizing Committee. Among the issues that have attracted recent attention from the CC are the Basic Principles; the Sector Feature Team (SFT) process; Governance and Finance.

The International Music Registry (IMR) Consultative Committee is composed of representatives from major sectors of the international music industry.

Many of the participants hold senior positions in International Trade Associations (ITA) representing their various music rights sectors. The Committee aims to ensure broad geographic diversity and is in the process of inviting music industry representatives from Africa, Asia, and Latin America. The Consultative Committee consists of Participants and their Alternates plus Observers as follows:


  • Attend in a personal capacity or as representative of their organization;
  • Present to the group the perspectives they believe will be generally representative of the sector in which they have most experience;
  • Should seek to ensure that they gather input from others within their sectors so those wider views are brought to the table;
  • New participants become involved through the support of existing participants;


  • 'Cover' the participant for which they are an alternate;
  • Keep up-to-date on the work of the dialogue so they can step in as needed when 'their' participant is unavailable to attend a particular meeting, for example.
Given Name Family Name Alternate's Name Organisation / Affiliation Region
Atul Churamani   Former Vice-President, Saregama India  Limited, Mumbai Asia
Frederick Fernandez   Chairman, Malaysian Musician's Union Asia
Lorenzo Ferrero   Chair of International Council of Music Creators (CIAM) Europe
Nic Garnett   Former head, International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI); Solicitor with Holme Roberts & Owen, London Europe
Jim Griffin   Former executive, Warner Music North America
Bendik Hofseth   Member of the International Council of Music Creators (CIAM) Executive Committee International
Gadi Oron   Director  of Legal and Public Affairs, International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers (CISAC) International
Michael Huppe   President, SoundExchange North America
Peter Jenner   Organizing Committee Europe
Paul Jessop   Executive Director, International Standard Recording Code (ISRC) Agency Europe
Song Ke   Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Taihe Rye Music Co., Ltd (TR Music) Asia
Brad Keenan   Director, Performers' Rights Society and Recording Artists' Collecting Society (ACTRA), The Societies Council for the Collective Management of Performers Rights (SCAPR)  International
Jake Beaumont-Nesbitt Marteen Quaghebeur - Chair MMF Belgium, Member of the IMMF European Committee Executive Director, International Music Manager's Forum (IMMF) International
Benoît Machuel Machuel   General Secretary, International Federation of Musicians (FIM) International
Brian Message Jon Webster Chairman, United Kingdom Music Managers Forum Europe
Martin Mills   Beggars Banquet / Independent Music Companies Association (IMPALA) Europe
Nicolas Motsatse   Chief Executive Officer, Southern African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO) Southern Africa
Carlos Ocampo  Pablo Hernandez President, LATINAUTOR, Director-General, Sociedad Argentina de Autores y Compositores de Música (SADAIC) Latin America
Lauri Rechardt   Chief Executive, International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI), Finland Europe
Dora Salamba-Makwinja   Head, Copyright Society of Malawi (COSOMA) Southern Africa
Cary Sherman   Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) North America
Jeremy Silver   Featured Artist Coalition Europe
John Smith   President, International Federation of Musicians (FIM) International
Helen Smith   Executive Chair, Independent Music Companies Association (IMPALA) Europe
Jun Wu   Chief Executive Officer, R2G Asia
András Oláh   Head of Department, Members and Distributions, Hungarian Bureau for the Protection of Authors' Rights (Artisius) Europe
José Luis Sevillano   President of the Technical Committee, Ibero-Latin-American Federation of Performers (FILAIE) Latin America
Bill Wilson   Vice-President of Digital Strategy and Business Development, National Association of Recording Merchandisers (NARM) International
FX Nuttall   Technical Advisor in the IMR International
Sylvain Piat   Technical Advisor in the IMR International
Michel Allain   Chief Information Officer, Société des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique (SACEM) Europe
Gloria Braga   Director, Central Office for Collection and Distribution (ECAD) Latin America
Vanisa Santiago   President of Todamérica Publishing, and Consultant at the Association for the Protection of Copyright (ADDAF) Latin America
Juliano Polimeno   CEO,  Plataformade Aferição e Gestão de DireitosAutorais (Playax) Latin America

The Organizing Committee

The Organizing Committee (OC) is a small group composed of both stakeholders and WIPO officials. Since the IMR is a public-private partnership, the OC represents the interface between the stakeholders and WIPO. The OC is responsible for generating initiatives to develop the IMR idea. With support from external consultants and WIPO staff, the OC formulates models and proposals and drafts certain decisions documents, including the Basic Principles, the SFT process, and Finance and Governance ideas.  The CC ensues that the initiatives respond to the stakeholder expectations.

The day-to-day work of the Consultative Committee is undertaken by an Organizing Committee as follows:

  • Bendik Hofseth
  • Peter Jenner
  • Nic Garnett
  • Nicolas Motsatse
  • Wu Jun
  • Victor Vazquez-Lopez
  • David Uwemedimo
  • C. Trevor Clarke

The Logistic Support/ Secretariat

Under the direction of the OC, the Logistics Support or Secretariat of the IMR is responsible for facilitating the dialogue and exploring different solutions to the needs expressed by stakeholders as assessed by the CC. It provides logistics and administrative support and ensures the coherence of IMR activities. The Secretariat submits to the Committees the most suitable alternative solutions for the different IMR proposals. Relevant information and documentation, as well as expert opinions on issues and organizational functions are provided by Logistics Support. The Secretariat provides focused assistance to the Committees on any specific issues raised.  Some of the Secretariat’s recent initiatives are described in this document. The IMR Secretariat is serviced by WIPO.



International Music Registry